

Colorado State Music Teachers Association

Affiliated with the Music Teachers National Association, Inc.

2023 Rising Stars Festival Winners

DEI Award New in 2023 is the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award medal!

All students performing works by DEI composers received a gold seal on their certificates. Additionally, judges selected several students who performed a DEI work at an exceptional level to receive a medal.

Congrats!

Piano

Lower Elementary 1st - Natalie Ouyang (Teacher: Jasmine Steadman)

2nd - Charlotte Jiang (Teacher: June Haun)
3rd - Clara Stewart (Teacher: Ara Gevorkian)
HM - Kaden Wu (Teacher: Jasmine Steadman)

Upper Elementary 1st - Joshua Song (Teacher: Jasmine Steadman)

2nd - Jayden LaBarbera (Teacher: Carolyn Shaak)

3rd - Sophie Chung (Teacher: June Haun) HM - Aidan Zhao (Teacher: Brenda Ishikawa)

Junior 1st - Henry Stewart (Teacher: Ara Gevorkian)

2nd - Josette Wu (Teacher: Errol Haun)

3rd - Beatrix Wei (Teacher: Dr. Joan Sawyer)

HM - Alexander Zhao (Teacher: Dr. Brenda Ishikawa)

DEI - Umika Thabrew (Teacher: Devika DeMel)

Lower Senior 1st - Yako Perlov (Teacher: Dr. David Korevaar)

2nd - Eric Kim (Teacher: Jasmine Steadman) 3rd - Torsten Snyder (Teacher: Elena Mathys) HM - Finn Hearne (Teacher: Jan Romero)

Upper Senior 1st - Hannah Park (Teacher: Dr. Jooeun Pak)

2nd - Sanjana Sankholkar (Teacher: June Haun) 3rd - Alison Creason (Teacher: Ara Gevorkian) HM - Kellen Jones (Teacher: Ara Gevorkian) HM - Angelina Mackay (Teacher: Elena Mathys)

Ensemble

Junior 1st - Evan Woods & Nicole Woods (Teacher: Jasmine Steadman)

2nd - Kalani Cheng & Ajay Zheng (Teacher: Luyan Gao)

3rd - Greyson Lovitt & Zachariah Wilson (Teacher: Laura McDermott)



Colorado State Music Teachers Association

Affiliated with the Music Teachers National Association, Inc.

2023 Rising Stars Festival Winners

Instrumental

Lower Elementary

1st - Reba Bradley (Teacher: Allegra Wermuth)

2nd - Anthony McCush (Teacher: Larisa Lewis)

3rd - Evan Li (Teacher: Luyan Gao)

HM - Lucia Xian (Teacher: Laura McDermott)

Upper Elementary 1st - Leonardo Kim (Teacher: Emily Ondracek-Peterson)

2nd - Sybil Bradley (Teacher: Danielle Guideri)

3rd - Aidalie Hoppe (Teacher: Sunghee Zimmermann) HM - Claire Paulin Finta (Teacher: Eugenia Alikhanova)

Junior 1st - Luciana Lee-Cheng (Teacher: Annamaria Karacson)

2nd - Airan Zheng (Teacher: Eugenia Alikhanova)

3rd - Chloe Hartojo (Teacher: Kirk Miller)

HM - Ruby Taylor (Teacher: Barbara Taylor, NCTM)

Lower Senior 1st - Camryn Olsten (Teacher: Claude Sim)

2nd - Eireen Margittai (Teacher: Eugenia Alikhanova)

3rd - Nathaniel Lasaga-Ivey (Teacher: Emily Ondracek-Peterson)

HM - Yiran Zheng (Teacher: Eugenia Alikhanova)

Upper Senior 1st - Finn Fleischer (Teacher: Laura McDermott)

Voice

Upper Elementary 1st - Diana Erickson (Teacher:Paula Baack)

2nd - Etta McCurdy (Teacher: Sarah Barber) 3rd - Megan Clarke (Teacher: Jenny Thompson) HM & DEI: Lilia Uzcatequi (Teacher: Sarah Barber)

Junior 1st & DEI - Will McGaha (Teacher: Sarah Barber)

Lower Senior 1st - Hannah Lee (Teacher: Sarah Barber)

2nd - Fiona Matschullat (Teacher: Deborah Berioli)

3rd - Mia Ashford (Teacher: Paula Baack)

HM - Rowan Vaughn (Teacher: Barbara Taylor, NCTM)

DEI - Reid Barnes (Teacher: Deborah Berioli)

Upper Senior 1st - Georgia Lawrence (Teacher: Barbara Taylor, NCTM)

2nd - Anson Bickerstaff (Teacher: Paula Baack) 3rd - Jacquelyn Erickson (Teacher: Paula Baack)